Have you been charged with a weapons or firearms crime? Our law firm can help. Learn how below or contact us today for your free consultation!
While the Second Amendment gives United States citizens the right to bear arms, due to state and federal laws, there are restrictions when it comes to owning and using weapons and firearms. It is imperative that you are well aware of these laws, especially if you are in possession of your own firearms.
If, however, you find yourself facing any kind of weapons or firearms charges in the state of Rhode Island, you need to consult with an experienced lawyer to help you with your case. You should never just plead guilty and accept your fate in court. A Rhode Island weapons and firearms lawyer can help you fight your case and potentially decrease the penalties you are facing.
Rhode Island Weapons and Firearms Charges
For more information regarding Rhode Island's laws around weapons and firearms, you can review the Rhode Island Firearms Act. The Rhode Island Firearms Act outlines the various regulations regarding weapons and includes information about the possible penalties you may face for violating certain regulations. Keep in mind that the penalties you face will be unique to your case, but to give you an idea of what you are up against, please read the information below.
One of the most common weapons-related charges in Rhode Island is carrying a pistol or having it in your vehicle without having the proper license. In Rhode Island, this is illegal. If you are convicted of this crime, the Firearms Act states you face a prison sentence of one year minimum. You could, however, face up to 10 years in prison. You will likely be required to pay a fine, which could total up to $10,000.
There are other types of weapons that come with pretty hefty consequences should you be found to be in possession of them. If you are found with a sawed off shotgun, you face up to 10 years in prison and $5,000 in fines. The possession of other illegal weapons (machetes, clubs, or any illegal martial arts weapons), could you land you in prison for a year and require you to be $1,000 in fines.
There are a variety of other weapons-related charges you could face in the state of Rhode Island. They include the following: using a firearm when committing a crime of violence, carrying a dangerous weapon when committing a crime of violence, carrying a stolen firearm when committing a crime of violence, larceny of a weapon, possession of a gun or weapon during commission of a felony, possession of a gun while intending to deliver or sell drugs, and possession of arms by a person convicted of a crime of violence or who is a fugitive from justice.
Penalties for Weapons and Firearms Charges in Rhode Island
There are strict laws in place regarding weapons and firearms that have been put in place by both the federal government and the state of Rhode Island. These charges are not to be taken lightly, as they can come with serious penalties. If you are facing a weapon or firearms charge in the state of Rhode Island, you are likely facing possible jail time. Jail time tends to be a mandatory penalty for anyone violating the laws regarding weapons and firearms.
If you are caught with an unlicensed gun of any kind, you may be facing jail time.
How We Can Help
If you or someone you know is facing a weapon or firearms charge in the state of Rhode Island, it is important to seek the help of an experienced attorney. You could be facing jail time and only the help of a Rhode Island weapons and firearms lawyer can help you achieve the best possible outcome in your case. The sooner you contact us the better. Get in touch with our office today to schedule a consultation.