Have you been charged with reckless driving? Learn how we can help.
Reckless driving in the state of Rhode Island is considered to be a misdemeanor charge and is not something to be taken lightly. If you are facing a reckless driving charge, it's important that you seek legal representation from an experienced Rhode Island reckless driving attorney immediately. Reckless driving can result in the suspension of your license, as well as many other serious consequences, and you will want an attorney by your side if you hope to reduce or drop the penalties you face.
While Rhode Island's definition of reckless driving is known to be rather vague, there are three main instances that will be deemed reckless driving if you are pulled over by an officer. Those instances are outlined below, as well as possible penalties you face if convicted.
Reckless Driving Charges in Rhode Island
Rhode Island's reckless driving statute will punish any drivers who are deemed to be operating a motor vehicle in a reckless manner. How is a “reckless manner” defined by the state? Rhode Island considers it reckless driving if your actions while driving potentially endanger the life and safety of the general public.
One example of reckless driving is drag racing. Drag racing is defined as two or more drivers engaged in a race or when a driver attempts to prevent being passed by another driver. The speed at which the vehicles are traveling and the presence of the competition itself are factors in drag racing.
You can also be charged with reckless driving if you attempt to evade police or flee from an officer. Exceeding the speed limit by more than 15 miles per hour while attempting to evade police will actually increase the penalties you face if you are found guilty in court.
In order to be found guilty of reckless driving, the prosecutor in your case will have to prove, beyond a reasonable doubt, that you as the driver knows or should know that your driving is a potential risk to the safety of others.
Rhode Island Penalties for Reckless Driving
There are a variety of penalties a driver may receive for reckless driving in Rhode Island. The most common penalties include the suspension of your driver's license, hefty fines, the completion of community service, or required attendance in a driving retraining school. Depending on the circumstances surrounding your case, you may even be sentenced to jail time.
A first offense of reckless driving is a misdemeanor and may come with the penalty of a fine for up to $500, plus a sentence of six months in jail. If, however, you receive a second reckless driving offense, the state of Rhode Island considers this to be a felony. The penalties for a second offense will be even more severe. Subsequent offenses can result in a jail sentence of over one year, plus a fine of up to $1,000.
How We Can Help You Fight a Reckless Driving Charge
The right attorney can make a huge difference in the outcome of your reckless driving case. Our firm has years of experience in dealing with reckless driving cases and has been able to secure positive outcomes for our clients. We will investigate every detail related to the incident to provide a strong, informed defense if we take the case to the courtroom. We will also work hard to get a reduction in the charges you face, or potentially get them dropped altogether. You can also be assured we will keep you informed throughout every step of the process so you can feel confident you are getting the best representation possible.
If you have been charged with reckless driving, it's important to consult with an attorney right away. You can schedule a free consultation with our office to discuss your rights and the possible penalties you face in your case. We will work hard to defend you every step of the way and protect you and your future.